Conference Alert: Dalton 2014 – Joint Interest Groups Meeting – 15th-17th April

Image

Calling all inorganic chemists! Once again the University of Warwick will be hosting the Dalton joint inorganic Royal Society of Chemistry conference, where researchers in all areas of inorganic chemistry are invited to meet and network. Every two years the Inorganic Reaction Mechanisms, Coordination and Organometallic Chemistry, Main Group Chemistry and Inorganic Biochemistry discussion groups meet to share their new and exciting work, and meet with others with similar interests from around the globe. Dalton 2012 was a massive success, with 252 delegates attending from 14 different countries.

The three day conference will involve keynote presentations from some influential chemists from around the globe, including Ted Betley from Harvard and Zhenyang Lin from Hong Kong. Furthermore, a selection of RSC prize winners will be presenting their award-winning work, including Professor Mike George, from my own University of Nottingham, who won the RSC Inorganic Reaction Mechanism Award.

I haven’t been to a joint meeting before, but I attended the Coordination Chemistry and Main Group Discussion Group Meetings last year, and thoroughly enjoyed them. Some of my colleagues attended Dalton 2012, and have been very positive about their experiences. Me, and three other PhD students will be attending from my research group, and my supervisor, Dr Deborah Kays, will be there, as she is treasurer of the Main Group Interest Group. I will be there representing not only myself and my group, but also The Element of Nature, and will hopefully have lots of feedback for you all when I get back.

Registration is open now, and is open to both RSC members and non-members here. The deadline for the submission of oral or poster abstracts is 16th March, and the deadline for all other registrations is 30th March. It’s a great opportunity to showcase your research in front of an audience of up to 300 dedicated and enthusiastic chemists, and I’d strongly recommend anyone with an interest in this area to think about presenting. If you’re a PhD or Masters student and you’re thinking of presenting work, I strongly suggest sending in an abstract asap, as you may receive a Royal Society of Chemistry bursary – reducing your conference fee to only £75.

So, there we have it. Dalton 2014 looks to be a great few days of chemistry, and I’m excited to see what new research is in store for us. I hope I’ll see you there!

Image

Standard

Leave a Reply

